Looking Back and Forward on Rosh Hashanah 5775

Today is Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, which begins the Jewish High Holy Days. This is the season when Jews look inside themselves, cleanse themselves spiritually, ask for forgiveness for any screw ups, and prepare for the new year.

I’m extremely grateful for the past year, with mixed feelings. Around the world, there have been problems that seem at times insurmountable, including in Israel and Palestine-to-be.

Nevertheless, I believe that if we keep the vision of peace with justice and take steps every day in its direction, we will achieve it one day. I discount those who say “the window is closing” on our chances for peace with justice. I’ve broken enough windows in my day to know that a closed window is no obstacle and a broken window can be replaced.

Personally, I’ve had an amazing year. I thank everyone here who has been by my side and wish you all, whether you’ve been by my side or not, the best year you’ve ever had.

Leave a Reply

