Give Iran Negotiations a Chance to Work

Just called my senators to see where they stood on the Menendez bill to increase sanctions on Iran in advance of negotiations.

I was pleased to learn that Carl Levin has already said he opposes the bill.

I assumed Debbie Stabenow would also and was prepared to just say thanks. Instead, I was told that she hasn’t taken a stand but that “she supports sanctions.” I said everyone supports sanctions; the issue is whether the sanctions that have already brought Iran to the negotiating table will be given a chance to work or whether we are going to increase sanctions beforehand and in effect declare war on Iran.

The staffer replied that she was just telling me what she knew but that Debbie hadn’t yet made an official statement. I told her I was extremely disappointed, that I had always voted for Debbie, and that I expected better.

It’s not too late to call your senators. In Michigan:

 Senator Carl Levin
Phone: (202) 224-6221

Senator Debbie Stabenow
Phone: (202) 224-4822

Leave a Reply

